Archive 03/04; 2 Months and counting…

Standard

Hello, 

Well, can you believe it. Today marks my 2 month anniversary of traveling. Let’s see, so far I’ve been to 7 countries, 2 continents, 5 islands, 4 time zones, dozens of trains and more buses than I want to count. It’s definitely been a learning experience. There’s been high points and low points. But I have to say that the highs definitely outweigh the lows. You definitely wise up traveling alone. I don’t even want to think about how much money the phrase “it’s not safe” has cost me. All that really means is we’re going to charge you more because you’re not from here. Oh well, live and learn. However, to quote Blanche DuBois, I’ve definitely learned to rely upon the kindness of strangers. And that has to be the best part of all is all the amazing people I’ve met and friends I’ve made along the way. 

So here I am in Tanzania and my volunteer work begins officially on Monday. However I got here a little early and met my students today. I’ll be working with an AIDS outreach program to help educate the public while also teaching them English and computer skills. It’s absolutely amazing how little some people know even here in 2004! Anyhow, I think it will be a very rewarding experience and will share with you.

Leave a Reply

