Archive 05/04; Birthday at the Taj Mahal

Standard

Well, it was my first Birthday abroad…but not alone. Can you believe I’ve had so little actual solitary time and the one day I wouldn’t want to spend alone…oh well. 

So I decided to do something big and treated myself to an A/C bus ride to the Taj Mahal. I’m currently in Delhi and Agra is 5 hours away. Well, it didn’t quite turn out as I’d hoped. The bus left at 6:30 in the morning and we arrived at Agra around noon. What I didn’t understand was that it was not just a Taj Mahal trip and that I was stuck with my group for the entire day…so I didn’t get to see sunset there as I’d hoped. Although it was an overcast day, so I don’t think it would have been a spectacular sunset anyhow. Nonetheless, we spent about an hour and a half at the Taj and since it’s low season I was one of a handful of foreigners there. EVERYBODY wanted to have their picture taken with me. And as soon as I had it taken with one then everyone else lined up. I joked that I should start charging, considering everyone is always asking me for money. Anyhow, it is absolutely surreal to see in person. You cannot believe how beautiful it is. It almost looks like something imaginary right before your eyes and you just can’t take enough pic’s of it. (on the downside, Agra itsself is a complete dump and excessive auto emissions are causing damage to the exterior marble). It took 23 years to build and several of the craftsmen cut off there hands or thumbs afterwards so that it could never be duplicated…a little extreme. after seeing that we were driven (I thought back to Delhi) to several temples…lord krishna’s birthplace, lord krishna’s deathplace and everytemple in between (with loads of monkeys at each one!). I didn’t really care about the temples and can you believe we didn’t get back to delhi until 1:30 in the morning! Oh well, this is India! 

Thanks for all the birthday wishes,

Leave a Reply

